C)HISSP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)HISSP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • Mile2 suggests twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience, but no verified mandatory experience gate exists.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in about two hours, with a 70% passing criterion.
  • The Exam Combo is advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list, including two attempts.
  • The credential is valid three years; renewal requires 60 CEUs, a fee and ethics acknowledgment.

What "Requirements" Actually Means for the C)HISSP

Searching for "C)HISSP requirements" usually turns up a long list of assumptions borrowed from other security certifications: years of verified work history, endorsement by existing members, mandatory training hours, a college degree. For the Certified Healthcare Information Systems Security Practitioner, issued by Mile2, the public picture is different and considerably lighter.

Based on the official Mile2 pages reviewed on September 29, 2026 (the course outline page, the web outline PDF, the Exam Combo product page and the certification renewal program page), the requirements fall into three buckets:

  • Suggested background: twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience.
  • Exam-day mechanics: a 100-question multiple-choice exam, roughly two hours, with a 70% passing criterion.
  • Post-pass obligations: a three-year validity period with a defined renewal route.

That is the full set of verified requirements. Anything beyond it, such as a degree, references or a minimum number of classroom hours, was not found in the public official sources and should not be treated as a gate unless Mile2 confirms it directly when you register. For a broader orientation to what the credential covers, see What Is C)HISSP Certification?

The Twelve-Month Experience Suggestion

Mile2 suggests that candidates have twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience. The key word is suggested. The public materials do not describe an application review, an experience attestation form or a verification step that blocks you from sitting the exam without it.

What counts as relevant experience

Because the phrase is "healthcare information-systems management," the experience that maps most naturally includes work where you touched the systems and the rules around them, such as:

  • Administering or supporting electronic health record platforms in a hospital, clinic or health system.
  • Working in a health plan, billing organization or business associate environment where protected health information moves between parties.
  • Serving in privacy, compliance, risk or IT governance roles that interact with clinical or administrative systems.
  • Managing vendor relationships where a third party hosts or processes patient data.

The exam's six subject areas (healthcare industry basics, regulation, policy, risk governance, risk assessment and third-party risk) reward people who have seen those issues in practice. If you have not, you can still prepare, but expect to spend more time on the context behind the terminology.

Suggested, Not Mandatory: Treat the twelve-month figure as a readiness benchmark rather than an eligibility test. If you lack it, compensate with structured study of how healthcare organizations actually operate, because Domain 1 (Intro to the Healthcare Industry) assumes you can reason about that environment.

What Is Not a Verified Gate

Candidates often ask whether they need a formal course, a degree or references. Here is what the public official sources do and do not support:

Possible RequirementStatus in Public Official Sources
Twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experienceSuggested, not verified as a mandatory gate
Official course attendanceOptional
University degreeNo mandatory degree verified
Professional references or endorsementsNot verified as required
Minimum training-hour totalNot verified
Scheduled live proctorStandard exams ordinarily do not require one, subject to purchased instructions

Practically, this means the barrier to entry is lower than for credentials that run formal application screening. The tradeoff is that the exam itself does the filtering. Without prerequisites, the only thing separating a passing candidate from a failing one is preparation. For a realistic sense of how demanding that is, read How Hard Is the C)HISSP Exam?

Exam Format, Delivery and Fees

Mile2 delivers its exams online through its own examination account. For standard exams, a scheduled live proctor is not ordinarily required, although this is subject to the instructions that come with what you purchase. Read those instructions closely at checkout, since delivery conditions can vary with the product.

Format at a glance

  • Questions: 100 multiple-choice items.
  • Time: approximately two hours.
  • Passing criterion: 70%.
  • Scored versus unscored items: the split is not disclosed.
  • Pass rate: not publicly disclosed (see C)HISSP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows).

Rules on open-book use, calculators and adaptive question delivery could not be verified from current public sources. Do not assume any of them; confirm in your exam account instructions before test day. Details on the cut score are covered in C)HISSP Passing Score 2026.

What the exam costs

The official indexed Exam Combo is advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list. The combo includes preparation resources, a simulator and two attempts. A bare-exam price and any member versus non-member pricing tiers were not verified, so budget from the combo figures and confirm current pricing on the product page. The full picture is in C)HISSP Certification Cost 2026.

Why the Combo Matters for Qualifying: Because the course is optional, the Exam Combo's included preparation resources and simulator are the lowest-friction way to meet the exam without enrolling in a full instructor-led program. Two attempts also build in a safety margin that many self-study candidates value.

Content Readiness: The Six Curriculum Areas

Since formal prerequisites are thin, content readiness is your real qualification. The six areas below reproduce the modules in the current-linked Mile2 course outline. Be aware of what they are and are not: they are course curriculum, not an official weighted or exhaustive exam blueprint. The public detailed outline supplies 25 numbered subtopics across these six modules, and the linked PDF carries 2020 file metadata, so no 2026 syllabus revision should be assumed. The largest domain by exam weight is unknown. For a deeper walkthrough, see C)HISSP Exam Domains 2026.

Domain 1: Intro to the Healthcare Industry

Context for everything that follows. Candidates should understand how healthcare organizations are structured and how information flows through them.

  • Provider, payer and supporting-organization roles
  • How clinical and administrative data is created, stored and exchanged
  • Why healthcare data carries distinct sensitivity

Domain 2: Regulatory Environment

The legal and regulatory frame around health information. Expect scenario questions asking which obligation applies to a given situation.

  • Privacy and security rules governing protected health information
  • Breach-related obligations and organizational responsibilities
  • How regulatory requirements shape internal controls

Domain 3: Healthcare Privacy & Security Policies

Translating requirements into written, enforceable policy.

  • Policy structure and the relationship between policy, standards and procedures
  • Privacy and security policy topics specific to healthcare settings
  • Awareness and enforcement of policy across the workforce

Domain 4: Information Governance & Risk Management

How an organization governs its information and manages risk as an ongoing program.

  • Governance structures and accountability
  • Risk management lifecycle concepts
  • Aligning risk decisions with organizational priorities

Domain 5: Information Governance & Risk Assessment

The assessment side of the program: identifying, analyzing and prioritizing risk.

  • Assessment approaches and scoping
  • Evaluating threats, vulnerabilities and impact in healthcare systems
  • Documenting and communicating findings

Domain 6: Third-Party Risk Management

Healthcare organizations depend heavily on vendors and partners that handle patient data.

  • Due diligence and ongoing oversight of third parties
  • Contractual and accountability considerations
  • Managing risk across the vendor relationship lifecycle

Notice that Domains 4 and 5 sound similar. Both sit under information governance, one focused on managing risk and the other on assessing it. Candidates sometimes blur them; practice distinguishing program-level management questions from assessment-technique questions.

How Different Backgrounds Qualify

Because the twelve-month suggestion is flexible, the practical question is which gaps you need to close given where you start. Here is how common starting points tend to line up with the six areas.

Health IT and EHR support staff

You likely already understand Domain 1 and parts of Domain 3. Your gaps tend to be the regulatory detail in Domain 2 and the formal risk vocabulary in Domains 4 and 5. Spend extra time on how governance and assessment are structured as programs rather than one-off tasks.

Compliance and privacy officers

Domains 2 and 3 are probably comfortable ground. Expect to invest more in the technical-adjacent risk assessment content and in third-party risk, where contract language and security oversight intersect.

General IT security professionals new to healthcare

You can handle risk methodology, but you may be missing healthcare context. Start with Domain 1 and the regulatory layer in Domain 2 before touching the risk domains; otherwise the scenarios will feel abstract.

Career changers without management experience

You can still sit the exam, since no mandatory experience gate is verified, but plan for a longer runway. Read the official course outline end to end, then build outward. Our C)HISSP Study Guide 2026 covers a structured approach.

Key Takeaway

Map your own experience against the six curriculum areas before you buy anything. Your weakest domain, not the number of years on your résumé, is what determines whether twelve months of suggested experience is enough for you.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Six Areas

Rather than a generic schedule, order your work by dependency. Early domains supply vocabulary the later ones assume.

Week 1

Domain 1: Intro to the Healthcare Industry

  • Learn the roles of providers, payers and business associates
  • Trace how patient data moves between them
Week 2

Domain 2: Regulatory Environment

  • Build a table of obligations and who owns each
  • Practice scenario questions on which requirement applies
Week 3

Domain 3: Healthcare Privacy & Security Policies

  • Connect each regulatory obligation to the policy that implements it
Weeks 4-5

Domains 4 and 5: Governance, Risk Management and Risk Assessment

  • Study management first, then assessment, and keep them distinct
Week 6

Domain 6 and Full Review

  • Cover third-party risk, then run timed 100-question simulations against the 70% criterion

Adjust the length to your background. The one-page recap in the C)HISSP Cheat Sheet is useful for the final review week, and you can pressure-test your readiness with timed sets on our practice test platform.

Keeping the Credential Active After You Pass

Qualifying does not end at the exam. The credential is valid for three years, and Mile2's current central renewal route asks for the following:

  • 60 CEUs earned within the three-year period.
  • A renewal fee. The FAQ lists USD 200 for U.S. renewal, with reduced pricing for qualifying regions.
  • An ethics acknowledgment.

An examination-based alternative is also available for those who prefer to renew by retaking an exam rather than accumulating credits. One caution: older course-outline wording on renewal conflicts with the current central policy. When the two disagree, rely on the central renewal program page and confirm with Mile2 before your renewal window.

Plan CEUs Early: Sixty CEUs across three years is manageable if you log activity as you go, such as healthcare privacy webinars, conference sessions and compliance training. Waiting until the final months turns renewal into a scramble.

What the Credential Signals to Employers

The C)HISSP targets professionals who sit between clinical operations, IT and compliance. Typical employers include hospitals and health systems, health plans, healthcare technology vendors, consulting firms serving covered entities, and business associates that handle patient data. For examples of roles, see C)HISSP Jobs.

On pay, no verified 2026 credential-specific salary premium exists, so treat any claim of a guaranteed bump skeptically. A balanced view of earnings and return on the fee is in the C)HISSP Salary Guide and Is the C)HISSP Certification Worth It?

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need healthcare experience to take the C)HISSP exam?

Mile2 suggests twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience, but a mandatory experience gate was not verified in public official sources. Without it, plan extra study time, particularly on healthcare industry context and the regulatory environment.

Is a training course required before the exam?

No. The course is optional. The Exam Combo, advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list, bundles preparation resources, a simulator and two attempts, which many self-study candidates use instead of a full course.

Do I need a degree or professional references?

No mandatory degree, references or training-hour total could be verified in the public official sources reviewed. Confirm any registration-specific conditions in your Mile2 account when you purchase.

Is the exam proctored?

Mile2 delivers exams online through its own examination account, and standard exams ordinarily do not require a scheduled live proctor, subject to the instructions attached to your purchase. Read those instructions before test day.

How long is the C)HISSP valid, and how do I renew?

It is valid for three years. The current central route requires 60 CEUs, a renewal fee (the FAQ lists USD 200 in the U.S., with reduced pricing for qualifying regions) and an ethics acknowledgment. An examination-based alternative also exists. See C)HISSP Exam Dates 2026 for scheduling considerations.

In short, the C)HISSP asks little in the way of formal paperwork and a great deal in the way of subject mastery. Verify the details on the official Mile2 pages before you commit, then build your readiness domain by domain.

Ready to pass your C)HISSP exam?

Put this into practice with free C)HISSP questions across every exam domain.