C)HISSP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

C)HISSP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • Mile2's official C)HISSP Exam Combo is advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list price.
  • The Exam Combo bundles preparation resources, an exam simulator and two exam attempts.
  • The bare-exam price and any member versus non-member tiers could not be verified from public sources.
  • The credential is valid three years; renewal requires 60 CEUs, a fee and an ethics acknowledgment.

The C)HISSP Cost at a Glance

The Certified Healthcare Information Systems Security Practitioner (C)HISSP) is issued by Mile2, and its pricing is simpler than that of many security credentials. The most visible official price is not a standalone exam fee. It is a bundle called the Exam Combo, sold on Mile2's product page. If you are budgeting for the credential in 2026, that bundle is the number to anchor on, with the renewal fee as the second line item.

This guide separates what is confirmed from what is not. Several details candidates often ask about, such as a standalone exam voucher price or tiered member discounts, are not verifiable from the public sources we reviewed on September 29, 2026. Where the facts run out, we say so rather than guess.

Cost ItemWhat Is ConfirmedStatus
Exam Combo (promotional)USD 500Advertised on official Mile2 product page
Exam Combo (list)USD 795Advertised on official Mile2 product page
Combo contentsPreparation resources, exam simulator, two attemptsAdvertised
Bare exam onlyNot verifiedCheck Mile2 directly
Member / non-member tiersNot verifiedCheck Mile2 directly
Renewal (U.S.)USD 200 per FAQ, plus 60 CEUs and ethics acknowledgmentListed in renewal FAQ

Exam Combo Pricing: What the $500 and $795 Figures Mean

Mile2's official, indexed Exam Combo lists a promotional price of USD 500 against a list price of USD 795. The gap between those two figures is significant, roughly USD 295, so it matters which one applies when you buy. Promotional pricing on vendor sites can change without notice, so treat USD 500 as the lower bound you may see and USD 795 as the figure to plan around if you cannot confirm a live promotion at checkout.

What the Combo Includes

According to the official listing, the bundle contains three things:

  • Preparation resources: study material tied to the credential, which candidates can use alongside the published course outline.
  • An exam simulator: a practice environment for the 100-question multiple-choice format. For additional drilling, our C)HISSP practice tests complement vendor-supplied simulators.
  • Two exam attempts: a built-in retake, which is the most underrated part of the package. A single failed attempt does not force a second purchase.
Why two attempts changes the math: If the bare-exam price were purchased separately and a retake were needed, the total could easily approach or exceed the combo price. Even without a verified standalone fee, a bundle that includes a second attempt reduces your downside risk. Candidates who are unsure about their readiness should read How Hard Is the C)HISSP Exam? before deciding how much safety margin to buy.

What We Cannot Verify About Pricing

Honest budgeting means naming the gaps. As of the September 29, 2026 review of Mile2's public pages, the following could not be confirmed:

  • The price of the exam purchased on its own, without the combo.
  • Whether Mile2 applies different pricing to members versus non-members.
  • Whether the full instructor-led or self-paced course carries a separate price that applies to your situation, since the course is optional for this credential.
  • Whether the promotional USD 500 price is time-limited and when it ends.

If any of these matter to your decision, contact Mile2 directly or check the live checkout page before committing. Third-party resellers sometimes quote different bundles, and those quotes should not be treated as official figures. For a broader view of whether the spend is justified, see Is the C)HISSP Certification Worth It?

How Mile2 Delivers the Exam and Why It Affects Cost

Mile2 delivers the C)HISSP exam online through its own examination account. Standard Mile2 exams ordinarily do not require a scheduled live proctor, subject to the instructions purchased with the exam. Practically, this has a few cost implications for candidates:

  • No testing-center travel. You are not paying for transportation, parking or time off work to sit at a third-party site.
  • No proctor scheduling fee that we can verify. Because delivery runs through Mile2's own account system, there is no separate appointment-booking layer confirmed in the public materials.
  • Flexibility in timing. Without a fixed live session, many candidates can sit the exam when they feel ready rather than paying to hold a slot. Details are covered in C)HISSP Exam Dates.

The exam itself is 100 multiple-choice questions over approximately two hours, with a 70% passing criterion. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. For what the 70% threshold means in practice, see C)HISSP Passing Score.

Verify the open-book question before paying for prep: Current rules on open-book use, calculators and adaptive testing are unverified for this exam. Because these rules shape how much memorization you need, confirm them in your purchased exam instructions before building a study budget around any assumption.

Where Preparation Money Goes: Six Course Modules

The course is optional, and no mandatory training-hour total has been verified. Still, many candidates use the course outline as their curriculum. The public detailed outline organizes the content into six modules containing 25 numbered subtopics. These modules are course curriculum, not a published weighted examination blueprint, and the largest domain is unknown. The outline PDF carries 2020 file metadata, and no 2026 syllabus revision is asserted.

That matters for cost because it tells you where to direct paid resources. The six modules align with these headings:

Intro to the Healthcare Industry

Foundational context on how healthcare organizations operate, which underpins every later security decision.

  • Candidates from IT backgrounds often need the most time here.
  • Low cost to cover with free or bundled resources.

Regulatory Environment

The legal and compliance landscape governing health information.

  • Expect scenario questions that test applying a requirement, not reciting it.
  • Worth paying for good practice questions here.

Healthcare Privacy & Security Policies

How privacy and security expectations become organizational policy.

  • Focus on the relationship between policy intent and operational controls.

Information Governance & Risk Management

Governing information assets and managing risk across the organization.

  • Pairs closely with the next module, so study them together.

Information Governance & Risk Assessment

Methods for identifying, evaluating and prioritizing risk to health information.

  • Practice interpreting assessment outcomes, not just defining terms.

Third-Party Risk Management

Managing the risk introduced by vendors, business associates and other external parties.

  • Vendor oversight scenarios appear throughout healthcare security work.

For a module-by-module explanation, see C)HISSP Exam Domains: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas, and for a structured plan, the C)HISSP Study Guide. Because the combo already includes preparation resources and a simulator, many self-directed candidates can avoid buying additional paid courses and add only targeted practice, such as the practice test site, where they find gaps.

The Long-Term Bill: Renewal, CEUs and Fees

The sticker price is only the first payment. The C)HISSP credential is valid for three years, and keeping it active carries ongoing cost in both money and time.

The Current Renewal Route

Under Mile2's current central renewal policy, the standard route requires:

  1. 60 CEUs earned over the three-year cycle.
  2. A renewal fee. The FAQ lists USD 200 for U.S. candidates and mentions reduced pricing for qualifying regions.
  3. An ethics acknowledgment.

An examination-based alternative is also available, which means a candidate who would rather not accumulate CEUs may have another path. We could not verify the fee for that alternative.

A conflict worth knowing about: Older course-outline wording on renewal conflicts with the current central policy. If you read renewal terms in an older PDF or third-party summary, defer to the current certification renewal page on mile2.com. Budgeting from outdated wording is an easy way to misjudge your three-year cost.

Hidden Costs of CEUs

Sixty CEUs over three years is manageable for working healthcare security professionals, but earning them is not always free. Some activities cost nothing, while others, such as conferences or paid training, do not. We did not verify which activities Mile2 accepts or their individual costs, so check the renewal page before assuming a particular course or event will count.

Three Realistic Budget Scenarios

The scenarios below use only confirmed figures. Anything unverified is flagged rather than estimated.

ScenarioUpfront CostThree-Year RenewalNotes
Promotional combo, pass first tryUSD 500USD 200 (U.S.) plus CEU effortSecond attempt goes unused
List-price combo, pass first tryUSD 795USD 200 (U.S.) plus CEU effortUse if no promotion is active
Combo, retake neededUSD 500 to USD 795USD 200 (U.S.) plus CEU effortRetake included in the bundle

Across a full three-year cycle, a U.S. candidate who buys at the promotional price and renews once at the listed fee is looking at roughly USD 700 in confirmed fees, before any optional training, additional practice materials or the cost of earning CEUs. At list price, the confirmed total rises to roughly USD 995. Those sums exclude anything unverified, so treat them as a floor rather than a ceiling.

Weighing Cost Against Career Return

The fee is modest relative to many security certifications, but cost only means something against return. Be cautious here: there is no verified 2026 credential-specific salary premium for the C)HISSP. Any source quoting a precise pay bump for this credential should be treated skeptically. For what can be said about earnings in the field, see C)HISSP Salary Guide, and for the roles that look for the credential, C)HISSP Jobs.

Key Takeaway

Judge the credential by fit rather than by an assumed raise. If your work touches healthcare privacy, security policy, risk assessment or vendor oversight, the six course modules map directly onto daily responsibilities, and the roughly USD 500 to USD 795 entry cost is easier to justify than if you are changing fields entirely.

Eligibility also affects whether the spend is wise. Twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience is suggested rather than a verified mandatory gate, and no mandatory degree, references or training-hour total has been verified. Details are in C)HISSP Requirements. If you are still learning what the credential is, start with What Is C)HISSP Certification? before spending anything.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the C)HISSP exam cost in 2026?

Mile2's official Exam Combo is advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list. It includes preparation resources, an exam simulator and two attempts. The bare-exam price could not be verified from public sources.

Is a retake included in the price?

Yes, if you buy the Exam Combo, which includes two attempts. Whether a retake on a separately purchased exam carries its own fee was not verified, so confirm at checkout.

Do I have to buy the course to sit the exam?

No verified source makes the course mandatory. It is optional, and no required training-hour total has been confirmed. Many candidates use the published course outline as a study framework instead.

How much does it cost to renew the credential?

The current central route requires 60 CEUs per three-year cycle, a fee and an ethics acknowledgment. The FAQ lists USD 200 for U.S. renewal, with reduced pricing for qualifying regions. An examination-based alternative also exists.

Does the C)HISSP guarantee a higher salary?

No. There is no verified 2026 salary premium specific to this credential. Its value depends on how closely your role involves healthcare privacy, risk and third-party oversight. See the pricing overview alongside our ROI analysis when deciding.

Ready to pass your C)HISSP exam?

Put this into practice with free C)HISSP questions across every exam domain.