C)HISSP logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A C)HISSP?

TL;DR
  • C)HISSP stands for Certified Healthcare Information Systems Security Practitioner, a healthcare-focused security and privacy credential issued by Mile2.
  • The exam is 100 multiple-choice questions in about 2 hours, with a 70% passing criterion.
  • It is taken online through Mile2's own examination account; standard exams ordinarily need no scheduled live proctor.
  • Twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience is suggested, not a verified mandatory gate.

What the C)HISSP Credential Actually Is

C)HISSP stands for Certified Healthcare Information Systems Security Practitioner. It is a vendor-issued certification built around one specific problem: protecting patient information and the systems that handle it. Where general security credentials spread across networking, cryptography and application security, this one narrows its attention to the healthcare setting, with its distinctive mix of clinical workflows, regulatory obligations, third-party vendors and highly sensitive data.

That focus shapes everything about the credential. The material starts with how the healthcare industry is structured, moves into the regulatory environment, then works through privacy and security policies, information governance, risk assessment and the management of outside parties who touch protected data. A candidate who completes this path should be able to speak the language of both the compliance office and the IT security team, which is exactly the bridge many healthcare organizations struggle to staff.

A note on naming: the acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in the wider certification world. This article covers only the Certified Healthcare Information Systems Security Practitioner credential. If you are comparing facts you found elsewhere, such as fees, domain lists or renewal rules, confirm they describe the Mile2 healthcare credential and not a similarly abbreviated one. For a dedicated explanation of the abbreviation itself, see What Does C)HISSP Stand For?

Who Issues It and How the Exam Is Delivered

The credential is issued by Mile2. Candidates take the exam online through their own examination account on the Mile2 platform. Standard Mile2 exams ordinarily do not require a scheduled live proctor, though this is subject to the specific instructions that come with your purchase. In practical terms, that means you are not booking a seat at a physical testing center on a fixed date. You are working through account-based access and following the instructions delivered with your exam purchase.

Because the delivery model differs from the appointment-based testing many candidates are used to, it is worth reading your purchase instructions carefully before you begin. Details such as whether the exam is open-book, whether a calculator is permitted and whether the exam adapts to your answers are not verified in the public materials reviewed for this article, so confirm them in your own account rather than assuming. For a closer look at how scheduling works, see C)HISSP Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Exam Format at a Glance

FeatureDetail
IssuerMile2
Question count100 multiple-choice questions
Time allowedApproximately 2 hours
Passing criterion70%
DeliveryOnline through your Mile2 examination account; standard exams ordinarily need no scheduled live proctor
Scored vs. unscored itemsSplit not disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed
ValidityThree years

The numbers give you a pacing target: with 100 questions in roughly two hours, you have a little over a minute per item. That is comfortable for knowledge-recall questions but tighter for scenario-style items that ask you to choose the best response among several plausible ones. Because Mile2 does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, treat every question as if it counts.

The exact pass rate has not been published, so any figure you see quoted without a source should be treated with suspicion. For a candid discussion of what is and is not known, read C)HISSP Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows. For the scoring threshold in more detail, see C)HISSP Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Read This Before Trusting a "Blueprint": The six areas below mirror the modules of the current Mile2 course outline. They are course curriculum, not a published, weighted examination blueprint, and the largest domain is unknown. The linked outline PDF carries 2020 file metadata, and no 2026 syllabus revision is asserted. Use the modules as a map of what to study, not as a promise about how many questions each will produce.

The Six Areas You Must Master

The public course outline organizes the material into six modules containing 25 numbered subtopics in total. Each module below corresponds to one of the content areas candidates should be ready for. For a deeper treatment, see C)HISSP Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Intro to the Healthcare Industry

This foundation module explains who the players are and how information moves between them. Security decisions in healthcare only make sense once you understand the environment they are made in.

  • How providers, payers and other healthcare organizations are structured
  • The kinds of patient and operational data these organizations create and exchange
  • Why healthcare data is a distinctive target and why availability can be a patient-safety issue, not just a business one
  • The vocabulary of clinical systems and records so that security conversations with clinicians are productive

Domain 2: Regulatory Environment

This is where candidates learn the legal and regulatory landscape that governs protected health information. Expect questions that ask what a rule requires, who it applies to and what a compliant response looks like.

  • The major laws and regulations governing health information privacy and security
  • Which obligations apply to which kinds of organizations and their business associates
  • Breach-related duties and how regulatory expectations shape incident response
  • The difference between a requirement, an expectation and a recommended practice

Domain 3: Healthcare Privacy & Security Policies

Regulation sets the floor; policy is how an organization meets it. This module covers translating obligations into governance documents and day-to-day controls.

  • How privacy policies differ from security policies and where they overlap
  • Administrative, physical and technical safeguards as policy categories
  • Workforce responsibilities, access principles and acceptable-use expectations
  • How policies are communicated, enforced and reviewed over time

Domain 4: Information Governance & Risk Management

This module treats information as an asset with an owner, a lifecycle and a risk profile. It is about the framework that keeps risk decisions consistent across an organization.

  • Governance structures and the roles responsible for information decisions
  • Risk management as an ongoing program rather than a one-time exercise
  • How risk appetite and risk treatment choices (accept, mitigate, transfer, avoid) are made
  • Connecting governance decisions to policy and to measurable outcomes

Domain 5: Information Governance & Risk Assessment

Where Domain 4 builds the program, this module focuses on the assessment activity itself: finding, rating and documenting risk to health information.

  • Identifying assets, threats and vulnerabilities in a healthcare environment
  • Evaluating likelihood and impact to prioritize findings
  • Documenting assessment results in a form decision-makers can act on
  • How assessment findings feed remediation planning

Domain 6: Third-Party Risk Management

Healthcare organizations rely heavily on outside vendors, and each one can become a path to patient data. This module covers how to evaluate and oversee those relationships.

  • Identifying which vendors and partners handle protected information
  • Due diligence before engagement and contractual safeguards during it
  • Ongoing monitoring and what happens when a vendor relationship ends
  • How a third party's failure becomes your organization's compliance and reputational problem

Notice that two of the six areas are about risk and a third is about vendors. Candidates with a pure technical background sometimes underestimate how much of the credential is about governance, documentation and decision-making rather than configuring controls. If your day job is hands-on administration, plan extra time for Domains 4 through 6.

Experience, Training and Eligibility

Mile2 suggests twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience for candidates. The word that matters is suggests: this is not a verified mandatory gate in the public materials reviewed. Likewise, the associated course is optional, and no mandatory degree, reference requirement or training-hour total has been verified.

That makes the credential relatively accessible, but accessibility is not the same as ease. A candidate with no healthcare exposure will find the regulatory and industry modules unfamiliar, while a seasoned healthcare compliance professional may need more time on the security-control side. A frank self-assessment of your own gaps is more useful than any eligibility checklist. For a fuller treatment, see C)HISSP Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for a realistic sense of difficulty, read How Hard Is the C)HISSP Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

Costs and Renewal Mechanics

Exam Pricing

The official indexed Exam Combo is advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list. The combo includes preparation resources, a simulator and two attempts. The bare-exam price, and any member versus non-member tiers, were not verified, so do not assume a standalone exam price from other sources. Prices change, so confirm the current figure on the official product page before budgeting. The full breakdown lives in C)HISSP Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Staying Certified

Renewal ElementCurrent Position
Validity periodThree years
Continuing education60 CEUs per three-year cycle
Other requirementsRenewal fee and ethics acknowledgment
Listed feeFAQ lists USD 200 U.S. renewal, with reduced pricing for qualifying regions
Alternative pathExamination-based renewal available
Conflicting Renewal Wording: Older course-outline wording on renewal conflicts with the current central renewal policy. When the two disagree, follow the central Mile2 certification renewal program page, and confirm the details directly before your three-year window closes.

Who Hires for This Credential

The employers most likely to value this credential are the ones that handle patient data and answer to healthcare regulators: hospitals and health systems, physician groups, health plans and insurers, and the vendors that serve them, such as electronic health record suppliers, billing and revenue-cycle companies, and healthcare consultancies. Roles where the credential's content maps naturally include privacy and security analysts, compliance and risk coordinators, information governance staff and the people who run vendor risk reviews.

Third-party risk management earns its own domain because it is a growing source of work. Organizations are increasingly expected to demonstrate oversight of the vendors that touch their data, and someone has to perform that oversight. A candidate who can speak credibly about assessment, governance and vendor due diligence in a healthcare context is addressing a real staffing need.

On compensation, be careful. No verified 2026 salary premium specific to this credential has been established, so claims of a precise pay bump should not be taken at face value. Pay in this field depends heavily on role, region, employer type and your underlying experience. For a measured discussion, see C)HISSP Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and for the opportunities side, C)HISSP Jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain

Because the six areas build on one another, the order in which you study them matters more than any general-purpose study technique. A sensible pattern follows the dependency chain of the material itself.

Weeks 1-2

Industry and Regulation (Domains 1-2)

  • Build the vocabulary of healthcare organizations first; later modules assume it
  • Learn the major regulations well enough to say who each applies to and what it demands
  • Make a one-page reference of obligations; you will reuse it for policy and breach questions
Weeks 3-4

Policy and Governance (Domains 3-4)

  • Practice mapping a regulatory requirement to the policy that satisfies it
  • Distinguish privacy policy from security policy and administrative from technical safeguards
  • Learn the four risk-treatment choices until you can apply them to a scenario
Weeks 5-6

Assessment and Vendors (Domains 5-6), Then Review

  • Work through risk-assessment scenarios: asset, threat, vulnerability, likelihood, impact
  • Study vendor due diligence, contractual safeguards and offboarding as a lifecycle
  • Spend the final days on timed practice at roughly the exam's pace of 100 questions in about two hours

The reasoning is simple: regulation shapes policy, policy sits inside governance, governance directs assessment, and assessment extends outward to vendors. Studying out of order forces you to memorize rules without understanding why they exist. For a full preparation plan, see C)HISSP Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for last-minute review, C)HISSP Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.

Key Takeaway

Because the six modules are not a weighted blueprint, give every area real attention. Use the C)HISSP practice tests to find which domain actually costs you points, then spend your remaining time there rather than guessing.

Is It the Right Fit for You?

The credential makes the most sense if you already work in or near healthcare and want to formalize your knowledge of privacy, security governance and vendor oversight. It is a stronger fit for people moving toward compliance, risk and governance roles than for those seeking a deeply technical penetration-testing or engineering credential.

It also has limits worth acknowledging. The course outline is undated in its current linked form, the exam blueprint is not publicly weighted, and the pass rate is undisclosed. Those are reasons to verify details directly with Mile2 and to avoid overconfident planning. If you are weighing the investment, the analysis in Is the C)HISSP Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 walks through the trade-offs, and the overview at What Is C)HISSP Certification? covers the fundamentals once more from the top. When you are ready to test yourself against realistic question styles, the practice test site is the place to start.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does C)HISSP stand for?

It stands for Certified Healthcare Information Systems Security Practitioner. It is a Mile2 credential focused on protecting health information and the systems that manage it. Other credentials share the same abbreviation, so make sure any fee, domain or renewal fact you rely on describes this one.

How many questions are on the exam and what score do I need?

The exam has 100 multiple-choice questions to be completed in approximately two hours, with a passing criterion of 70%. Mile2 does not disclose how many questions are scored versus unscored, so treat every question as counting.

Do I need a degree or specific experience to sit the exam?

No mandatory degree, references or training-hour total has been verified. Twelve months of healthcare information-systems management experience is suggested rather than a verified mandatory requirement, and the associated course is optional.

How much does it cost?

The official Exam Combo is advertised at USD 500 promotional or USD 795 list, and includes preparation resources, a simulator and two attempts. The bare-exam price and member tiers were not verified, so check the official product page for current pricing.

How long does the credential last and how do I renew it?

It is valid for three years. The current central renewal route requires 60 CEUs per three years, a fee and an ethics acknowledgment, with an examination-based alternative available. The FAQ lists a USD 200 U.S. renewal fee, and older course-outline wording conflicts with current policy, so rely on the central renewal program page.

Ready to pass your C)HISSP exam?

Put this into practice with free C)HISSP questions across every exam domain.